# No to Low Emission Zones and Low Traffic Neighbourhoods

## This council notes that:

Local authorities including Bath & North East Somerset Council and Oxford City Council have brought forward the concept of '15 minute cities' and '15 minute neighbourhoods'. In practice, the realisation of these concepts has taken the form of Low Emission Zones and Low Traffic Neighbourhoods, enforced by physical infrastructure (vehicle filters, bus gates, bollards) and ANPR recording systems, backed by a schedule of fees and penalties for non-compliance.

The recent extension of the Labour Mayor of London's Ultra Low Emission Zone (ULEZ) to all boroughs of London has attracted wide condemnation and opened a debate across the country about the suitability of such schemes.

### This council believes that:

Ultra Low Emission Zones, Low Emissions Zones and Low Traffic Neighbourhoods are:

- Ineffective at reducing pollution and emissions, merely pushing vehicles onto other roads and often increasing dangerously the traffic and pollution at the perimeter of such zones
- Harmful to the local economy, discouraging visitors and raising unnecessary extra costs to businesses
- Unethical tools of local and devolved government, designed to bring in revenue and exert control over individual freedoms, and not a sincere effort to cut pollution or improve lives

#### This council further notes:

Newcastle Borough Council's excellent environmental record and previous commitments to reduce carbon emissions as set out in its Sustainable Environment strategy. Over the last few years, the council has committed to eliminate single-use plastics; and to embrace the UN's Sustainable Development Goals.

## This council resolves:

To oppose fully and unambiguously any proposal to introduce Ultra Low Emission Zones, Low Emission Zones or Low Traffic Neighbourhoods in any part of our borough.

To ask the Council to redouble efforts to stop the imposition of a bus gate at Basford Bank and continue to work with our local MPs towards that end.

**Proposed: Clir Mark Holland** 

Seconded: Cllr Simon Tagg