Public Document Pack

Council - 05/09/18

COUNCIL

Wednesday, 5th September, 2018 Time of Commencement: 7.00 pm

Present:- The Mayor - Councillor Mrs Gill Heesom – in the Chair

Councillors:

Burgess Burnett Miss J Cooper Mrs J Cooper John Cooper Driver Dymond Fear Fox-Hewitt Gardner Harrison Holland Horsfall Johnson Johnson **Jones** Kearon Maxfield Moffat Northcott Olszewski

Panter Parker Pickup **Proctor** Reddish Robinson Rout Shenton Spence Stubbs Sweeney J Tagg S Tagg Walklate J Waring P Waring G White Wilkes **G** Williams J Williams Wright

Officers

Executive Director Operational Services- David Adams, Janet Baddeley, Experimental Control (Regeneration and Development) - Neale Clifton, Geoff Durham - Mayor's (Officer, John Tradewell - Acting Chief Executive / Head of Paid Service and (Resources and Support Services) - Kelvin Turner

15. ALDERMAN BARRIE CRITCHLOW

Members stood in silent tribute to the memory of Alderman Barrie Critchlow. Members paid tribute to Alderman Critchlow for his commitment and hard work in the Borough during his time as a Councillor. Members sent their condolences to his family.

16. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillor Simon White.

17. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

There were no declarations of interest stated.

18. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN FOR THE BOROUGH OF NEWCASTLE-UNDER-LYME

Councillor Simon Tagg moved and Councillor Tony Kearon seconded that Mrs Margaret Astle, Mrs Ann Beech, Mrs Sandra Hambleton, Mr Derrick Huckfield, Mr Ian Matthews and Mrs Wenslie Naylon be appointed as Honorary Aldermen for the Borough of Newcastle under Lyme.

A correction was made to the report – adding that Wenslie Naylon had also served as a Cabinet Member.

Councillors' Reddish and Proctor were also happy to support the appointments.

Resolved: That the following be appointed as Honorary Aldermen for the

Borough of Newcastle under Lyme.

Mrs Margaret Astle

Mrs Ann Beech

Mrs Sandra Hambleton

Mr Derrick Huckfield

Mr Ian Matthews

Mrs Wenslie Naylon

THE MAYOR - COUNCILLOR MRS GILL HEESOM Chair

Meeting concluded at 7.30 pm